My Wedding Floristry by Revival Rooms

“Every flower is a soul blossoming in nature” Gerard De Nerval ….Love this!

unnamed-8
My bridesmaid bouquets by Sian  – Revival Rooms

 

The floral displays at my wedding were so important to me to be relaxed and a riot of April colour….this they were thanks to Sian at Revival Rooms along with all the venue styling.

FullSizeRender-1

 

 

I met Sian by accidently attending a wedding fair that happened to be on at The Olde Bell in Hurley (a great pub/barn venue but abit too small for what we wanted) when I thought we were just popping by to check out the venue.

Her floristry was quirky and unique so I made an appointment for a consultation at her studio for a few weeks later. I loved working with her towards creating my vision which I had 100% confidence she would execute it on the day and trusted any tweeks she would do so with her judgment on what looked best.
FullSizeRender-3
It was great to be able to connect with someone who shared the same love of House of Hackney and dogs!
 My favorite design element of the day was the ceremony barn design and the low level mix of metallic vessels with spring stems on our banquet tables …mixed in with a few spray-painted pineapples.

 

I asked Sian to share a Q&A with me about being a small business in the floristry industry;

Tell me abit about yourself and Revival Rooms and what services you offer?
We set up Revival Rooms five years ago with a passion for the art of entertaining. I believe that all the parties & events that mark milestones in people’s lives should be awarded the importance they deserve. RR celebrates the aesthetic details of events & offers three services to make people’s vision of their event come to life: Design, styling & floristry.

Describe your typical day?
Every day is different for me. I can be visiting beautiful venues all over the country with clients, in my studio creating floristry arrangements for a wedding, sourcing props & interesting vessels for events & photo shoots & a lot of the time I’m in my office with my French bulldog, Franck, working on admin tasks, making sure everything from event schedules to our accounts are up to date.
What’s your favourite part of being involved in wedding floristry?

I love meeting brides and developing a relationship with them over the course of one or even two years. I like hearing lots of different ideas & visions & seeing these come to life on the day of the wedding. It’s such a special celebration to be a part of, filled with so much love & excitement that it’s hard not to become excited & drawn into the day too!

FullSizeRender-4

Are there any current trends within wedding floristry?
Hanging floral installations are becoming increasingly popular. The use of heavy foliage in arrangements. Simple colour schemes of white & green.

What advice or tips do you have for someone choosing a wedding florist?
Don’t choose anybody without going to meet them or the company. It’s important to make sure you can connect to them & pick up an idea about how they work

What advice would you pass on to someone wanting to start out in the floristry industry?
Try & work with as many florists or companies as possible to see what areas you enjoy working on, whether it’s event floristry or working in a shop, or on contracts.

How many photos do you have on your phone camera roll right now?
567!

FullSizeRender

Who’s your favorite person to social media and why?
 I love following Miss Bush Bridal for bridal wear inspo & great Insta stories!
 
If you werent in the floristry industry what would you like to be doing?
I would be a counsellor. I have a degree in psychosocial studies & was going to carry on & become a certified psychodynamic counsellor but the urge to be in a creative industry took over.
 FullSizeRender-2

Featured flowers for my wedding day:

  • Muscari
  • Veronica Purple
  • Wax flower
  • Sweet pea white
  • Ranunculus (mix of colours)
  • Margriet (these are the daisy-esque ones which I really loved!)
  • Helleborus
  • Snapdragon / Foxglove / Stocks/ Lamprocapnos “Bleeding Hearts”

 

IMG_1551
Sian also created my Christmas Wreath back in December that was up in my living room till almost Feb I loved it so much

Check out Revival Rooms on Instagram  Based in Bricket Wood, Herts.  Sian’s feed is a delight of lovely things! Revival Rooms is  prime example of a passionate, small business whose personal touches make such a big difference, especially when planning a million other things in the run up to a wedding!

 

unnamed-7

Leave a Reply

