Downstairs Toilet Makeover – Before and After

image1

The downstairs loo is bearly a metre square so only took a weekend to refresh

It already had one wall papered with geometric navy wallpaper that although looked great, the design wasn’t to my taste in such a small space. I was originally going to wallpaper with the dalmatian monochrome spot that I’ve since used in our home office – there is a blog post up already on the makeover.  So I settled with painting it all therefore keeping it plain so I can add frames to make a gallery wall.

I made no change to the tiles around the sink. I opted for Crown Grey Putty for the walls and Farrow and Ball Pitch Blue for a feature area behind the toilet cistern.

As I just wanted a refresh and not an overhaul, the accessories have made the biggest difference within this small space…

My gold “Roma” mirror was the first thing I bought as I knew I wanted gold accents and accessories. It’s so ornate but was really cheap from Dunelm (which seem to only have stores located in the home counties so am pleased I am local to one now I’m in Bucks!)

image3

With zero storage I bought this lidded seagrass basket from Habitat to sit under the sink. The fact it has a lid means I can fill it with shoes and keep them all out of sight.

image1

I was lucky to win a really cute weave wall hanging from a small business Holly and Teddy. I love to support people who share their passion and show such talent.  Holly has an amazing Instagram page as well as her Etsy store where she sells her amazing craft through. I was so happy to win her giveaway as it also sits back against the grey wall really nicely.

image2

Another two small businesses that are well worth checking out are  Origami Est  and Southwood Stores. I attended an origami lampshade workshop at the Southwood Social Hub back in June where we were taught how to make our own. I had the toilet refresh in mind so opted for gold and spent a great afternoon creating one with some great fellow newbies to origami (it’s harder than it looks by the way!) Esther is a fantastic teacher and well worthy of every success from her book where you can create all types of paper home accessories.

The origami workshop being held at the Southwood Store which meant it was near impossible leaving without purchasing something from the scandi-inspired homewear. I cant wait to attend another creative session at the Social hub. If I ever can break away from working for a big corporation I will enlist Hayley’s help to create an empire like hers. Anyone I can bond with in the first 10 minutes of meeting over gin and self-help books has an amazing aura! Check out her site and social media.

Back to the make over…

We had so many bits from our previous flat I still liked including these “pugs might fly” that were originally silver, sprayed white in my pervious bathroom and now ive sprayed them gold

IMG_1915

More metallic touches…

My gallery wall so far consists of 2 frames and 2 animal hooks from Anthropologie and a starburst vintage-inspired mirror.

 

I’m looking forward to adding to the wall with more eclectic finds…

Leave a Reply

